fbpx
Skip links

What Age Is It Legal to Get a Tattoo in Alabama

Check if the store looks clean. Find out about the professional`s license, training and experience. Don`t be afraid to ask questions before making decisions. You can also ask to watch what happens in the store when someone else gets pierced or tattooed. The rules serve your safety and well-being as well as that of the tattoo artist and the shop. These restrictions are intended to protect the minor, his/her parents and the tattoo artist and the company from legal or medical consequences. In addition, tattooing of persons under 21 years of age, with the exception of persons under 18 years of age, is prohibited with parental consent. There are some risks associated with tattooing, especially in minors. In addition, the law establishes body piercing as a form of body art and requires piercers and tattoo artists as well as permanent cosmetics stores to pay an annual fee. To learn more about tattoo legislation or tattoo schools in Alabama, please visit the Alabama Department of Public Health website. Many states require a minor to be tattooed by a licensed physician, or at least in the presence of one. If you think your teen might be tempted to get body art or body modification, talk about it. Instead of just banning it, learn why your teen is interested in a particular tattoo or piercing.

There aren`t many laws that explicitly restrict where a minor can be tattooed, but individual tattoo shops limit where they have minors tattooed. Article 321-379 on tattooing of minors states that it is illegal to tattoo a minor under the age of 18 without the prior written consent of his parents or a legal guardian. In addition, appropriate consent forms must remain confidential to the tattoo shop for at least two years. Tattooing and piercing in Delaware is handled by Del. Code Ann. 16, §122(3)(w) and Del. Code Ann. 11, §1114(a) – Delaware Code Annotated, which sets standards for the hygienic operation of tattoo parlors as well as piercing facilities. A tattoo parlor is either a person or company that creates permanent marks on human skin by perforating the skin and inserting an indelible color or creating scars.

A tattoo as a minor is not recommended as it can lead to medical complications and regrets. N/A The codified laws §9-34-17 allow any municipality to regulate the tattoo industry by licensing tattoo artists and establishing hygiene standards, provided that these standards are as strict as those required by the Ministry of Health. In all jurisdictions, individual tattoo artists may also impose additional restrictions based on their own moral feelings, such as rejecting clients under a certain age, even with parental consent, even if it is legal, or restricting the type and/or place where they are willing to tattoo (e.g., reject any work around inappropriate body parts). They may also refuse to perform certain works of art, even if they simply find it inappropriate or offensive, or refuse to work on a client they suspect is intoxicated. Artists sometimes claim that their personal business restrictions are a matter of law, even if it`s not true, to avoid conflicts with customers. Piercing: Piercing or even an offer to perform a piercing on a minor under the age of 18 (with the exception of emancipated minors) is illegal unless it is performed in the presence of a parent or guardian or notarized written authorization is given.by the minor`s parents or guardians. Not applicable to ear piercing. There are at least 24 states where a 14-year-old can be legally tattooed. § 321-13 defines and regulates tattoo artists.

This law establishes public health requirements for tattoo licenses and the operation of tattoo studios. Almost every state has laws that deal with some aspect of body art. (Nevada has no laws dealing with body art; Maryland has very limited laws). At least 45 states have laws prohibiting minors from getting tattoos. Thirty-eight states have laws that prohibit piercing and tattooing minors without parental permission. Some states require consent forms to be notarized to ensure that guardians are the ones actually filling out the paperwork. In Florida, a grandfather lost custody of his 10-year-old grandson because they had a family tradition of getting their initials tattooed on his right leg at a young age. As a country, Canada does not have a national minimum age to get tattooed. Instead, they left that decision to individual provinces. According to the Kentucky Tattoo Act (Ky.

Rev. §194A.050; 211,760.) The Department of Public Health, Division of the Directorate of Food Safety and Public Health, is responsible for developing national plans, objectives, policies and procedures for tattooing, piercing and ear piercing programs, and is responsible for assisting local health departments in implementing state laws. The program registers tattoo artists and body and ear piercers and certifies piercing facilities and tattoo studios. S.D. Codified Laws Ann. §26-10-19 makes tattooing a minor a Class 2 offense without signed parental consent. (f) No person may tattoo the body of another person under 19 years of age. In addition, Ark. Stat. Article 5-27-228 on tattooing and piercing prohibits anyone from engaging in body art activities such as tattooing, piercing or marking a minor unless there is written consent from the minor`s parents, guardians or guardians and that person is present during the proceedings. If you are interested in the national laws and regulations on tattooing and piercing in European countries, we have also provided you with the essential information.

Learn about the potential risks and talk to your teen about dangers such as infections as well as social consequences. A facial piercing may interfere with their ability to find employment, or a tattoo may limit employment opportunities. Some states do not allow a teenager to get a tattoo or piercing their tongue regardless of parental consent, while other states do not have rules. This means that your teen may be able to enter a salon and get tattooed or pierced without your knowledge. §324.520 It is unlawful to knowingly tattoo or pierce the body of a minor without the prior and informed written consent of the minor`s parents or guardians. If you`re not comfortable with your teen getting tattooed or pierced, you may be able to opt for another option, such as a henna tattoo or an extra ear piercing. But if you can`t find a compromise and aren`t willing to give in, make sure your teen is informed. The second reason for age restrictions is that tattooing is a medical procedure and therefore minimum standards must be met. Individual tattoo artists, piercers, etc. need a permit. [2] In most countries in Australia and Tasmania, you must be at least 18 years old to get a tattoo.

As the popularity of body art increases, states are struggling to keep up with new art forms. From tattoos and piercings to subcutaneous implants and body painting, state lawmakers have had to change their body art laws to ensure the activity is performed safely, does not conflict with the activities of other certified professionals (such as dentists or ophthalmologists), and protects minors. Often, stores ask for ID and verify your age if you look under 18. It is illegal to tattoo minors even if they have parental consent. However, in Western Australia, it is legal to get a tattoo if you are 16 or older and have written parental consent. This means that anyone 18 years of age or older can be tattooed without parental consent. Many parents – as well as teenagers – are curious about what age teens can get tattooed or pierced. Virginia Code §18.2-371.3. Tattooing and piercing of minors prohibits tattooing minors under 18 years of age, except when the tattoo is performed in the presence of the person`s parents or guardians. This also does not apply to tattoos performed under the supervision of a doctor or nurse as part of regular medical procedures. In accordance with Colorado`s revised regulations.

§ 25-4-2101 to 2103 on tattooing and piercing It is illegal to perform any form of body art on a minor. There is an exception whereby the corporal artist must obtain the express consent of the minor`s parents or guardians. d) The department regulates the persons who practice the art of tattooing and the institutions in which they operate.  A permit is issued annually by the ministry to an applicant who meets all licensing requirements under the tattoo facilities regulations.  Authorizations expire on 31 December each year.  Inspections of the facility must be conducted at the frequency specified by the Ministry or in accordance with the regulations approved in paragraph (e). The Texas Health and Safety Code, Title 2 Health, Subtitle G Licensing and Other Regulations, Chapter 146 Tattooing and Certain Body Piercing Studios prohibits a person from operating a tattoo parlor without a license issued by the Texas State Department of Health Services. It also prohibits tattooing a minor. An exception requires the consent of a parent or guardian if they believe it is in the minor`s best interests to get a tattoo to conceal an existing obscene or offensive tattoo. The tattoo industry in the state of Kansas is governed by the 2019-2020 Kansas State Legislature, namely Section 19. – Approval of facilities by the State Council of Cosmetology: Kan.

§65-1940 to 65-1954 Tattooing, body piercing and cosmetic tattooing stipulate that for any person, including a tattoo artist, cosmetic tattoo artist or piercer, in order to legally perform a tattoo, cosmetic tattoo or body piercing on another person, display a sign or advertise or impersonate a tattoo artist, a cosmetic tattoo artist or piercer, this person must have a valid license, published by the State Council of Cosmetology.